Hummus is generally considered gluten-free. The traditional ingredients used to make hummus, such as chickpeas, tahini (made from sesame seeds), lemon juice, garlic, olive oil, and salt, are naturally gluten-free. However, it’s important to note that certain commercially prepared hummus brands may add additional ingredients or flavors that could potentially contain gluten.
Cross-contamination is also a consideration when it comes to gluten-free foods. If hummus is prepared in a facility that also processes gluten-containing ingredients or if shared equipment is used, there is a risk of cross-contamination.
The good news is that most brands of hummus and hummus flavors are gluten free so buying hummus at grocery stores typically ins’t a problem. However, some may have gluten-containing ingredients, and that is why we are going to dive into brands that we know make gluten-free hummus.
If you want to try your hand at making homemade hummus, it really isn’t too hard! It is a healthy snack, can be made into small batches and is easy enough to store. The key ingredients are mentioned above however, everyone has their own version on how to make this creamy dip! Let’s look at some hummus recipes